Single in my 20’s

Usually when it’s your birthday you get older but nothing really changes, sure you can drink legally now or whatever but you still pretty much just feel like the same person… But when I turned 20 I felt different – I felt like I finally left the kids table and got onto a bus heading on a big adventure. I felt older, I felt a kind of freedom, happiness and excitement.  Every adult kept saying that I should enjoy the next ten years before I turn 30 because according to them being 20-something is the best time of your life.

My mom is constantly telling me to refrain from getting married too young and having children early on. And well she’s right! They all are… Now I know a lot of people are lucky enough to already be with their soul mate so they are getting married and that’s great but for me being single I know that for now I really want to focus on enjoying my life as a 20-something. I was in a long, long distance relationship and it really held me back, there are a lot of things I missed out on and although that wasn’t the reason it ended I only now realized how it affected me.

Being single really got to me the past few weeks, it was horrible, mostly because I wasn’t use to it. Ugh and all the questions from the family, no one special to spend the holidays with and not having someone to kiss at midnight on New Years Eve wasn’t the best experience for me… But after all that was over I got really excited for 2014. I have a lot of great opportunities in terms of my studies and working as an intern etc. Also as I have mentioned in the previous blog post I plan on making 2014 an adventure.

The past few months dealing with the break up, getting over it, moving on and making peace with it has been an interesting journey and today I finally realized that I can actually say I don’t care that I’m single… It really doesn’t bother me anymore! Now it is all about me, doing the things I have always wanted to do, having the time of my life and enjoying the ride. While I am doing that I know when the time is right I will meet someone while doing something I love or while just enjoying my life. It is worth it, not to only settle for good, but waiting for the best.

This post was inspired by 23 things to do instead of getting engaged before you’re 23 (read it here: http://wanderonwards.com/2013/12/30/23-things-to-do-instead-of-getting-engaged-before-youre-23/) also follow @singleinmy20s on Twitter – she has an amazing blog/website all about being single in your 20’s.

Check out my previous post and let me know what you think by commenting or tweeting me @MizanvdM – I appreciate all the comments and thanks to everyone following my blog 🙂

One thought on “Single in my 20’s

  1. Millenium Lady says:

    We are in the same boat! For me it is hard not having that someone to spend time with and just having someone. All my life I’ve been in relationships, so it’s a strange feeling not to be in one! We will find our Princes’ someday, just not today. 🙂

Leave a comment