The unexpected life of a twenty-something

It’s funny how things usually don’t go the way we think it will…

That’s the beauty of life right?

I’ve been single for a while now and I used to think I will stumble upon love some way or another and I thought it would have happened by now.

I thought I would find someone and that by the time I turn 21 I would have someone special to spend that big moment in my life with. Someone I would take home to meet my family and be all happy and in love.

I’m turning 21 in a week and to be honest that is nowhere near reality.

I used to think that one day I will look back at my days as a student and remember all those special moments I shared with someone at varsity, you know like they do in the movies? But that did not happen at all.

I started to wonder why I can’t also be one of those people that have this experience, why is this the way it’s supposed to be?

So a few weeks ago I started having this dream that after I have received my degree this year, to go to a different university next year. Move away, start over, have a new adventure somewhere where people don’t know who I am. Not running away, just starting over.

And then I realized that if I had met someone like I thought I wanted to, I would not be able to pack up everything and move away because then something would be holding me back. I would be leaving someone behind or taking someone with me on my new adventure.

You see it’s funny how life does not happen the way you thought it would. Moving and going to a different varsity was never the plan and now all of a sudden it’s the only thing I want to do.

It usually works out better than we ever hoped or thought it would, so don’t be afraid of the path you are being directed to go on. Life is not set in stone and you might end up having the time of your life in a way you never even dreamed of.

So put on you seatbelt and enjoy the ride.

Has your life taken an unexpected turn or has something happened that you did not plan, but it turned out amazing? Let me know or let me know what you think about my blog – tweet me @MizanvdM or comment below.

8b7c3f12adfee9cf8a0b88f5372795c1

4 thoughts on “The unexpected life of a twenty-something

  1. madind says:

    You know you have found the right person, though, when it doesn’t feel like something is holding you back, or keeping you from doing what you want to do. When it feels like they are the experience you want to have and you’re not missing out. Wait for that person and have all of the adventures along the way!

  2. Kiara Oosthuizen says:

    Ah, life! It always works out better than we initially thought! You will still meet The One, but you may start a new kind of adventure like the working adventure haha wait that sounds horrible! Just be patient! Being Twenty-something is all about having fun and getting to know yourself!

Leave a Reply

