Adventure Day 2 – first day as an intern in the big city

There is a lot I can say about my first day as an intern in the big city, because it was one of the most exciting days of my life. It’s not that I made a big difference or that something huge happened, the fact that I got to have this experience was more than enough for me.

Driving to work yesterday morning I was shocked to see that the sun wasn’t rising until about 7:30 am, but the view of the city’s lights as well as Table Mountain in the early morning darkness was an amazing sight.

I arrived at the office about an hour early because of the lack of traffic that morning, and I waited awkwardly for the people at the magazine to arrive. When they finally got there I ws introduced to everyone in the office and I was shown to my desk. I quickely started learning a lot about the people, what they do and how they do it. The view from the office building took my breath away, while looking at it I knew that I could really get used to this!

10519772_10204220427294909_2191113539997347248_n

After a long exciting day, I got to rest my feet, while drinking a big glass of red wine in front of the fireplace. It was blissfull. I realized that I felt home here and that this is what I want to do one day and this is where I want to live. I am really looking forward to the next two weeks and I know this is an experience and an adventure I will not forget.

This city has a vibe to it that’s hard to explain… It seems like everyone is moving at their one pace and there is this chilled, calm, friendly vibe to the people and the surroundings but at the same time a rush, excitement, culture and movement.

One thought on “Adventure Day 2 – first day as an intern in the big city

Leave a Reply

